Past awards: ACU Citations for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning

2020

Dr Md Akhtaruzzaman, Lecturer, Finance, Faculty of Law and Business: for embedding authentic learning activities in teaching approaches, commensurate with ACU's mission and values to create work-ready business graduates.

Dr Rachel Busbridge, Lecturer, Sociology, Faculty of Education and Arts: for innovative, passionate teaching that inspires students to transcend the taken-for- granted to deepen learning, advance self-knowledge, and develop as critical and reflective thinkers

Dr Beth McLeod, Lecturer, Outdoor Leadership/Education, Faculty of Health Sciences: for leadership in sport and outdoor education in the development of strategies and resources that facilitate enhanced student support, learning and the overall ACU experience.

2019

Dr Renata Cinelli, Faculty of Education and Arts

'for leadership that facilitates enhanced social, cultural and academic student experience; student support; and promotes access to local and global opportunities for ACU students'

Dr Joanne Harris, Faculty of Education and Arts

'for making an outstanding contribution to Music education, with student-centred learning the focus of her teaching'.

Dr Isabelle Lys, Faculty of Health Sciences

'for scholarly and collaborative approaches to an authentic blended learning environment that facilitates peer learning and engagement in biomedical science curricula'

Dr Michael Noetel, Faculty of Health Sciences

'for using top-level evidence to inform teaching, and using top-level evidence to create distinctive graduates'

Dr Antonia Pizzey, Faculty of Theology and Philosophy

'for teaching theology in an empathetic, student-focused manner which synchronises with ACU's mission and expresses her commitment to truth, academic excellence, and service'

2018

Associate Professor Nick Carter (Team Application), Faculty of Education and Arts Team

Members: Dr Duncan Cook and Dr Chris Matthew

'for inspiring students to learn new skills, create new knowledge and grow as individuals through a unique, hands-on, interdisciplinary History-Geography field school in Rome'

Dr Nell Musgrove, Faculty of Education and Arts

'for designing and delivering innovative units which engage students in hands-on experiences of history and increase their capacity to 'do history' in real world settings'

Ms Alexandra Logan and Dr Elisa Yule, Faculty of Health Sciences

'for leadership in the development of strategies and resources to involve consumers in the design, delivery and evaluation of mental health curriculum within occupational therapy'

2017

Dr Robyn Bentley-Williams, Faculty of Education and Arts

'for outstanding contribution to support student learning in Diversity and Inclusive Education through scholarship of teaching and learning to build capacity'

Associate Professor Diane Jacobs, Faculty of Health Sciences

'for leadership in learning and teaching at the Speech Pathology discipline, interdisciplinary, and Faculty level'

2016

Dr Helen Aucote, Faculty of Health Sciences

'for use to evaluative practices to develop a three-pillared lab report writing program to improve student performance, engagement and satisfaction in introductory psychology units'

Dr Jen Couch, Faculty of Education and Arts

'for inspiring and motivating youth work students to be engaged and reflective practitioners committed to working with marginalised young people'

Dr Bronwyn Gordon (Team application), Faculty of Health Sciences

Team Members: Mrs Alison Peeler, Mrs Mandy El Ali, Miss Shannon Barnes, Miss Claire Stewart 'for student centred teaching strategies which improve the student's experience of child and adolescent nursing through a second year unit of undergraduate study'

2015

Dr Cathie Harrison, Faculty of Education and Arts

'for leadership and innovation in curricula development teaching and provision of services and resources that reflect strong command of the field of early childhood education'

Dr Georgia Clarkson, Faculty of Health Sciences

'for leadership of the development and implementation of distinctive curricula within the discipline of paramedicine inclusive of undergraduate, postgraduate and combined degree programs'

Dr Theda Thomas, Faculty of Education and Arts

'for a sustained, scholarly approach to leading curriculum development that develops students as learners, practitioners and critical thinkers in their discipline'

Dr Amy Chapman & Dr Natasha Wardman (Team Application), Faculty of Education and Arts 'for collaboratively designing a research-led curriculum in teacher professional ethics that promotes pre-service teachers in understanding and reasoning through ethical tensions during final professional placement'

2014

Mr Anthony Whitty, Faculty of Health Sciences

'for continued commitment to motivate and inspire student learning in their academic and inter professional units'

Dr Helen Webb, Faculty of Health Sciences

'for significant contribution in engaging and motivating paramedic students to learn through the design and implementation of the Diggers Trail Wilderness Exercise'

Associate Professor Paula Schulz (Team Application), Faculty of Health Sciences

Team Members: Ms Machellee Kosiak, Ms Gail Baker, Ms Denise Burdett-Jones, Ms Joclyn Neal, Dr Lynne Dunne, Ms Krishna Heffernan

'for engaging and supporting Indigenous student learning within an innovative Away from Base Bachelor of Midwifery program'

Dr Santha James, Faculty of Health Sciences

'for engaging students from diverse backgrounds in the science curriculum and inspiring them for critical thinking and lifelong learning through passionate and scholarly teaching'