As a Collection Manager, if you purge items:

  • All versions of the item are purged as well,
  • They are completely removed from Equella,
  • They cannot be restored, and
  • It is an action that cannot be reversed.

How to perform the purge action

  1. Search for and select the items you wish to purge from the system.
  2. With these items selected, click the 'Perform an action' button:
    The Perform an action button
  3. In the Bulk Actions popup window, choose the Purge option from the drop-down list of actions:
    The purge option in the list of actions
    Note: the Bulk Actions window also includes a list of selected items that you can remove from the list of selections by clicking the 'x' button associated with each item in the list.
  4. Click the 'Execute' button and click 'OK' in the confirmation dialogue box that appears.
  5. When the action has finished, you should see a confirmation message. You can then close the Bulk Actions popup window and return to Equella by clicking the 'x' button in the top right corner of the popup window.

Once completed, these items will be permanently removed from Equella. These items cannot be restored in the same way that deleted items can be.

Learning & teaching

Please contact the Learning and Teaching Centre for professional development, resources and advice for your learning and teaching needs at ACU.

LEO support

Available 8am-10pm Sydney time, Mon to Fri,
9am-5pm Weekends and public holidays
Closed Good Friday and Christmas


LEO Guides
LEO Guides feedback