Please see the current issues documents below. If you encounter an issue in LEO, please contact LEO Support, who will attempt to fix your problem or escalate to the appropriate area of ACU to assist you.

Overview

Kaltura Capture can sometimes fail to correctly upload a video made using the software to My Media in LEO, resulting in the video being lost and irretrievable.

Expected function

After recording a video using the Kaltura Capture software, users are able to save and upload their video to My Media. In some cases, due to issues with the media server or with the client's internet connection, the upload does not complete, or does not complete processing after upload has finished.

Current issue

There is currently no function available in the Kaltura Capture software to re-upload a video that fails to upload and process correctly. Kaltura developers are working on adding the function back into the software, however it is not available as yet.

Impact

Users may experience a loss of data and time spent creating media if they are impacted by this issue.

Alternatives and Workarounds

  • Files created in Kaltura Capture are saved locally on your computer, and can be retrieved manually and uploaded using the Add New > Media Upload function in My Media. The folder containing local versions of recordings can be located here:
    • On Windows: C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Kaltura\Capture\Bin
    • On Mac: /Users/<username>/Library/Preferences/Kaltura/Capture/recordings
  • Echo360 Universal Capture is another free application that can be used to make screen and webcam recordings
  • Uploading videos files to Kaltura that have been created in another program using the Add New > Media Upload option is still possible.

Status of fix for this issue

Currently unresolved.

Overview

ACU Library has reported that some LEO units have an extra "-1" or "-2" in their unit's LEO Unit ID. This creates problems when Editing Lecturers are trying to connect to Leganto or trying to associate a Reading List with a LEO unit.

Expected function

When a unit is created and linked to a Banner student cohort, the unit ID should be the term code followed by the CRN, such as "201960-2978" (where "2019' is the year, "60" is the term reference, and "2978" is the unit CRN). LEO unit IDs are not meant to have suffixes with "-1", "-2", etc.

Current issue

Disabling the "Create" button has prevented a lot of these cases from reappearing. However, Editing Lecturers self-reported to ACU Library staff that they refreshed the page if the Unit Creation process took some time to complete (i.e., more than 5-10 seconds). This action created a second (or third) version of the LEO unit to the one invoked by clicking the "Create" button.

Impact

If the LEO Unit ID is incorrect because of the added suffix, Editing Lecturers will not be able to connect to their Reading Lists in Leganto. There may be other issues with connected systems that reference that ID such as Equella. 

Alternatives and Workarounds

The LTC and ACU Library advise staff to go to LEO Support when it is determined that their LEO units have suffixes in their LEO Unit IDs. The LEO Support Team will be able to delete the original (unused) LEO unit and assign the correct Unit ID to the one that the Editing Lecturer is actively working in.

Status of fix for this issue

"Create" button fix already implemented. LEO Support can address concerns for the small number of incidences where this issue occurs (approx. 10-15 per semester, as reported by ACU Library).

Overview

Some LEO users may not be able to access Adobe Connect content and activities.

Expected function

Users who access Adobe Connect through the External Tool in LEO should be able to access all meetings and recordings.

Current issue

Users who have a period (".") as their First Name in their LEO account may not be able to access Adobe Connect content and activities, receiving a "user not authorised" error when attempting to join meetings or watch recordings.

Impact

The user is unable to access any content through the External Activity and URL links must be provided to students by the tutor.

Alternatives and Workarounds

Please see our Adobe Connect Issue Workaround.

Status of fix for this issue

Currently unknown.

Overview

Participants page produces redundant warnings when applying search filters.

Expected function

A user can filter the enrolled users in a unit by choosing from a list of predefined search methods from the Filters dropdown box, or typing a keyword in the Filters box and pressing Enter to update the list of users automatically.

Current issue

Predefined and keyword filters are functioning as expected, however users are given a dialogue warning box that states, "This page is asking you to confirm that you want to leave - data you have entered may not be saved." Users then have to choose either "Leave Page" or "Stay on Page". Users need to click "Leave Page" to apply the filter they've chosen, which is misleading for most users. Clicking "Stay on Page" does not update the filter.

Impact

This issue affects any user who isn't familiar with the functionality of browser-generated dialogue boxes, leading these users to believe that the Participants filter is not functioning correctly.

Alternatives and Workarounds

Users need to be informed that clicking "Leave Page" will update the filter, not actually leave the page as the function suggests.

Status of fix for this issue

A solution is currently being investigated.

Overview

Customising the participants for a specific meeting room is being overwritten on a nightly basis.

Expected function

Upon creating a meeting room in Adobe Connect using the External Tool activity, all users in a unit are added as Participants (Students) or Hosts (Lecturers and Editing Lecturers) to the new room by default. Editing Lecturers may then add and remove users who have access to this meeting room using the "Participants" function, meaning only those users assigned to the room with the Participant, Presenter or Host role can access the meeting room or view recordings of that room.

Current issue

The overnight synchronisation of users to LEO units removes any customisations made by Editing Lecturers to the list of users who can access the room, restoring all users in the unit to their default role in all meeting rooms, regardless of previous customisations.

Impact

This issue means that all users in a unit can access all meeting rooms created using the External Tool activity. It is therefore technically impossible to restrict the students or lecturers in Group A, for example, from entering the meeting room or watching a recording of Group B, and vice versa. In cases where it is necessary to restrict groups from accessing the information of other groups, this may be a problem.

Alternatives and Workarounds

If the privacy of group meeting rooms is a priority, a meeting room can be created and customised directly in the Adobe Connect Web Manager, with the link to the room provided directly to students. See the Adobe Web Manager LEO Guide.

Status of fix for this issue

Currently unknown.

Page last updated on 25/03/2020

Learning & teaching

Please contact the Learning and Teaching Centre for professional development, resources and advice for your learning and teaching needs at ACU.

LEO support

Available 8am-10pm Sydney time, Mon to Fri,
9am-5pm Weekends and public holidays
Closed Good Friday and Christmas


LEO Guides
LEO Guides feedback