Recognising excellence, dignity and engagement

Photo of Faculty of Health Sciences Executive Dean Professor Michelle Campbell presenting the 2016 Academic Staff Award to Dr David Opar.

Dr David Opar receives the 2016 Academic Staff Award from Executive Dean Professor Michelle Campbell.

The Faculty of Health Sciences commits to the values of excellence, dignity and engagement, as articulated in the Faculty’s Positioning Statement and Values.

The Positioning Statement and Values supports the Faculty by enhancing engagement, increasing levels of workforce participation, student experience and encouraging positive workplace behaviours

When the Positioning Statement and Values were launched in 2015, the Faculty of Health Sciences also introduced a new staff award scheme to reward those staff who incorporate the positioning values in their day-to-day work.

Four Awards are available each year in the following categories:

  • Academic staff
  • Professional staff
  • Casual/sessional staff
  • FHS team (>3 staff)

These awards acknowledge staff that demonstrate the values of:


Pursuing excellence in education, research, engagement and service in the Health Sciences. Our mission is advanced through innovation, understanding and working towards the highest quality standards, and being courageous and resilient.


Respecting the value and work of each person. We centre ourselves on respect, compassion, integrity and inclusiveness with all people and communities. Dignity of the individual is at the heart of our interactions, relationships and partnerships.


We are responsive to all our students and stakeholders. We take a collaborative and collegial approach with flexibility to continuously improve health and wellbeing and serve local, national and international communities.

And the winners are...

In 2016, over 50 nominations were received and the successful Faculty of Health Sciences Employee Values Awards recipients are:

2016 Academic Staff Award - Dr David Opar.
Lecturer, School of Exercise Science – Melbourne Campus

2016 Professional Staff Award - Ms Theresia Kremer.
Faculty Administrator, Office of the Executive Dean – Melbourne Campus

2016 Sessional/Casual Staff Award – Dr Vanessa Spiller.
Sessional Academic Staff, School of Psychology – Brisbane Campus

2016 Faculty of Health Science Team Award – Dr Bronwyn Gordon, Ms Alison Peeler, Ms Mandy El Ali, Ms Shannon Barnes & Ms Claire Stewart.
NRSG257 Child, Adolescent & Family Nursing teaching team, School of Nursing, Midwifery & Paramedicine – Multiple Campuses

The following slideshow controls change the content above and below. Information is displayed below the controls while video content plays above the video controls.

Service Central

Visit Service Central to access Corporate Services.

Other service contacts

Learning and Teaching
Request Something

Make a request for services provided by Corporate Services.

Request something
Knowledge base

Find answers to frequently asked questions 24/7.

See Knowledge Base