Congratulations to our award winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 2019 Vice-Chancellor’s Staff Excellence Awards.

Each year, ACU recognizes the achievements and contributions of staff across the University and celebrates excellent work through these awards.

Congratulations to our 2019 winners:

Mission Excellence

The Refugee Law Project for enabling ACU law students to undertake pro bono work and assist unrepresented asylum seekers at the Federal Circuit Court in Sydney.

Team: Associate ProfessorCatherine Renshaw and Mr Dominic Cudmore.

Service Excellence

Manager, HR Business Partners team support of Meeting the Challenge for their support during the implementation of 30 change processes across ACU – an unprecedented volume of change for ACU and a necessary response to Federal Government funding cuts to the higher education sector.
Team: Mrs Liza Rainbird, Mrs Grace Porter, Mrs Leisa Waters, Ms Kim O'Brien and Ms Julie Crawford.

Excellence in Student Experience

The Pro Bono Student Placement Program for enhancing the law student experience by creating an in-house pro bono placement opportunity to work with ACU’s Office of General Counsel and Governance teams in North Sydney.
Team: Dr Diane Barker, Mr Dominic Cudmore, Mrs Caroline Ryan and Ms Kathryn Williams.

Ms Maxine Bradshaw for her dedication in driving a variety of initiatives in the Faculty of Law and Business that support students to thrive in their studies and their entrepreneurial endeavours.

Excellence in Research and Research Partnership

Quality in Acute Stroke Care Program for their research which is transforming clinical practice by providing new high-level evidence for the importance of nursing care to manage fever, high blood glucose levels and swallowing difficulties after stroke.
Team: Professor Sandy Middleton, Ms Simeon Dale, Professor Elizabeth McInnes, Ms Kelly Coughlan, Dr Cintia Martinez, Mrs Tara Doyle, Mrs Joylynn Israel, Ms Patty Zenonos, and Mr Benjamin McElduff.

Excellence in Community Engagement

Dr Daniel van den Hoek for his contributions to the McAuley at Banyo Campus in Brisbane through his work in the School of Behavioural and Health Sciences and with community outreach initiatives including work with the Holy Cross Laundry service and the 10k Steps Banyo and Kicking Goals Together programs.

Mr Jye West for his work with external training partners and security and cleaning services to create a training and development pathway for people from refugee backgrounds and providing on-the-job training at ACU campuses.

From the award winners above, one team or individual will also receive the Vice-Chancellor’s Medal for Excellence.

The Medal recipient will be announced during the Vice-Chancellor’s Staff Excellence Awards Ceremony on 16 October in North Sydney.

We’ll also be sharing more information about the winners and their work in the Staff Bulletin and on Workplace following the awards ceremony.

The following slideshow controls change the content above and below. Information is displayed below the controls while video content plays above the video controls.

Service Central

Visit Service Central to access Corporate Services.

Other service contacts

Learning and Teaching
Request Something

Make a request for services provided by Corporate Services.

Request something
Knowledge base

Find answers to frequently asked questions 24/7.

See Knowledge Base