Celebrating excellence at ACU

The 2023 Vice-Chancellor’s Staff Excellence and Excellence in Teaching Awards were held at the North Sydney campus to commend the exemplary work of colleagues and teams.

During the awards ceremony, Vice-Chancellor’s Staff Excellence Awards were presented to representatives of the winning projects or teams from six categories: Excellence in Student Experience, Excellence in Research and Research Partnership, Service Excellence, Mission Excellence, Spirit of Reconciliation and Excellence in Community Engagement.

The recipients of the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, Postgraduate Teaching and the 2023 Medal for Excellence were also announced.

The 2023 Vice-Chancellor’s Medal for Excellence has been awarded to Associate Professor Laura Miller in recognition of her exemplar efforts to bring the ACU mission to life and create impact through empathy by empowering people with a disability and their caregivers to flourish and live to their fullest through the ENVISAGE initiative.

Congratulations to our excellent teachers

A very big congratulations to the 2023 award winners:

  • Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching - Dr John Mahoney
  • Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Postgraduate Teaching - Associate Professor Alison Owens
Congratulations to our excellent staff

A very big congratulations to all of 2023 Vice-Chancellor’s Staff Excellence Awards category winners:

  • Excellence in Community Engagement
    Project: ACU-Thomas More Law School Pro Bono Legal Service Program team
    Team: Professor Patrick Keyzer, Dr Kunle Ola, Dr Bill Swannie, Dr Mark Hamilton, Ms Jennifer Downey, Ms Sharmin Rahman and Mr Ian Lam.
  • Spirit of Reconciliation
    Project: Cultural Mentors in Occupational Therapy Curricula Development team
    Team: Mr Elwyn Henaway, Aunty Joanne Claybourn, Ms Leanne King, Ms Naomi Huxley, Ms Janaya Charles and Ms Nicole Cassar.
  • Service Excellence
    Project: Empowering Excellence: supporting data-driven strategic decision-making team
    Team: Mr Justin Davis, Mr Jeff Jones, Mr Andrias Paramita and Ms Karen Randy.
  • Mission Excellence
    Project: ACU Ally Network team
    Team: Professor Noah Riseman, Dr Jillian Cox, Dr Joel Anderson, Ms Natalie Lindner and Associate Professor Fr Jamie Calder.
  • Excellence in Student Experience
    Project: ‘Ward for a Day’ simulation team
    Team: Professor Beth Jacob, Ms Robyn Dickie, Dr Susan Darzins, Dr Michelle Smith-Tamaray, Ms Melanie Barlow, Ms Shari Maver, Dr Nicholas Flynn, Associate Professor Rett Quinney, Dr Aniqa Farwa, Ms Alycia Jacob and Ms Alison Blunt.
  • Excellence in Research and Research Partnerships
    Project: ENVISAGE
    Team: Associate Professor Laura Miller.

The following slideshow controls change the content above and below. Information is displayed below the controls while video content plays above the video controls.

Service Central

Visit Service Central to access Corporate Services.

Other service contacts

Learning and Teaching
Request Something

Make a request for services provided by Corporate Services.

Request something
Knowledge base

Find answers to frequently asked questions 24/7.

See Knowledge Base