In Focus - Executive Dean Presents: Crisis in our schools

Join the Faculty of Education and Arts for the first in a new series of debates focusing on the big issues for arts and education and how they will shape the future of Australia. The series will draw on ACU’s expertise in education and arts, providing thought-provoking debate on critical issues.

The first topic in the series is Crisis in our schools.

The number of teachers available to shape the learning of our children is at an all-time low. The pandemic has not only changed our idea of education but rendered the teaching profession no longer sustainable. Australia’s communities are desperate for more teachers.

What incentives and support are there for future educators? How are teachers dealing with the demands of the rapidly changing education landscape? How can we equip future teachers with the tools to ensure they feel capable of leading and teaching within inclusive and diverse schools?

Our panel of speakers will foster robust discussion around the current and future challenges in the education sector, involving a range of ethical viewpoints, values and perspectives.

Event details

When: Tuesday 11 October, 3pm–5.30pm AEDT
Where: The Peter Cosgrove Centre, Level 18, Tenison Woods House, North Sydney Campus and online via livestream
Attendance: You are welcome to attend in person or via livestream. A livestream link will be sent to registered attendees closer to the date.

Drinks and light refreshments will be served from 3pm and after the debate from 5pm.

Please register by Friday 30 September 2022.

Register online

Master of Ceremonies

Associate Professor Miriam Tanti, Associate Dean Partnerships at ACU

Panel Chair

Professor Mary Ryan, Executive Dean of Education and Arts, ACU

Panel speakers:
  • Professor Claire Wyatt-Smith, Director of the Institute of Learning Sciences and Teacher Education, ACU
  • Lisa Paul AO PSM, Former Chief Executive (Secretary) of the Australian Federal Government
  • Melodie Potts Rosevear OAM, Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Teach for Australia
  • Patrick Devery, Professional Officer at Independent Education Union of Australia, NSW/ACT Branch
  • Andrew Peach, Executive Principal at Marsden State High School, 2020 School Principal of the Year, and General Manager, School Participation NRL
  • Lauren Walters, 2022 Australian Schools Plus Early Career Teacher Award recipient, Teacher at St Agnes Catholic High School, and ACU alumnus

Find out more about the panellists 

The following slideshow controls change the content above and below. Information is displayed below the controls while video content plays above the video controls.

Service Central

Visit Service Central to access Corporate Services.

Other service contacts

Learning and Teaching
Request Something

Make a request for services provided by Corporate Services.

Request something
Knowledge base

Find answers to frequently asked questions 24/7.

See Knowledge Base